Three Chelsea players have been nominated for a place in the FIFA FIFPro World XI.

Eden Hazard, David Luiz and N’Golo Kante are three of the 55 nominees for a place in the team, which is made up of the best 11 players in the calendar year. 

The list of nominees features such players as Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi as somewhat of a routine, as well as newer talent such as PSG’s Kylian Mbappe. 

Chelsea have had players win places in the final XI in the past, as follows: 

2005: John Terry, Claude Makelele, Frank Lampard
2006: John Terry
2007: John Terry, Didier Drogba
2008: John Terry
2009: John Terry
2014: David Luiz

David Ramos/Getty Images Sport

David Luiz was included in the 2014 World XI, during which year he left Stamford Bridge for PSG. 

The final eleven is the only team award voted for by professional players themselves.